Each piece is associated to one verse of the Beatitudes. A highly spiritual and inspired cycle !


Title Béatitudes
Composer Patrick Loiseleur
Instrumentation Violin and Piano
Reference TPR-0030
Opus Number L52
First Publication May 2017

Those 8 pieces for Violin and Piano were inspired by The Beatitudes as written in the Gospel of Matthew (5th chapter) 

  1. Blessed are the poor in spirit
  2. Blessed are those who mourn
  3. Blessed are the meek
  4. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness
  5. Blessed are the merciful
  6. Blessed are the pure in heart
  7. Blessed are the peacemakers
  8. Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness sake

Through the use of different techniques ranging from extended tonality to serial writing, they pay a tribute to the beauty of violin and its incredible ability to convey the noblest sentiments.


Dedication To Pascal Devoyon and Dong Suk Kang
Duration 34 minutes (8 parts)
Difficulty level

Recorded by Orlando Bass and Rachel Koblyakov for the album Loiseleur: En Blanc et Noir (Audio CD), now available on all streaming sites. Here are the directs links to listen on youtube:

  1. Heureux les pauvres (album)
  2. Heureux les doux (album)
  3. Heureux les affligés (album)
  4. Heureux les assoiffés de justice (album)
  5. Heureux les miséricordieux (album) (live concert)
  6. Heureux les coeurs purs (album) (live concert)
  7. Heureux les artisans de paix (album)
  8. Heureux les persécutés (album)
Pages 67 (full score) + 25 (violin part) + 2 (cover)
* Choose the Score Type: