Asturias from Spanish Suite for Viola Quartet (Albeniz)

A virtuose piece for Viola Quartet based on Isaac Albeniz' great classic. No doubt that both interprets and the audience will love it !

Title Asturias, from Spanish Suite
Composer Isaac Albeniz
Arranger Patrick Loiseleur
Reference TPR-0135
Opus number Op 47 n°1
Instrumentation Viola Quartet (which means four Viola players)
Synopsis Originally written for solo piano, this piece has also been arranged for guitar by Tarrega, and for symphonic orchestra. The piano gesture of alternating between left hand and right hand is replaced by quickly alternating between two strings. While keeping the original G minor tonality, this arrangement for four viola players makes great use of open strings, pizzicati, harmonics, double stops and other instrumental gestures that are typical for the stringed instruments.

You might also check out the Solo Viola version of the same piece !
Duration 6 minutes
Difficulty level
Pages 12 (full score) + 12 (parts) + 2 (cover)
Related scores
Asturias from Spanish Suite for Viola Quartet (Albeniz)
* Choose the Score Type: